Skip to content

Quote of the Week

August 31, 2006

“Man has transcended things; they can no longer be God for him. He has come to know himself sufficiently to have no more desire to worship himself. If then he is ready to acknowledge God, his relation to God becomes terrifyingly direct. There is really no zone left to be adored save God. Yet there is someone else, who is not God, and who has come nearer to man than ever before. This is his brother.”

“The adventure of losing self will not be worthwhile if I do not meet God in my brother, if no breath of infinity stirs in this love, if I cannot love my brother with a love that comes from a higher source than my finite capacity of loving; in short, if what in our meeting may bear the sublime name of love does not come from God and return to Him.”

Hans Urs von Balthasar, The God Question and Modern Man

Comments are closed.

