Skip to content

Lake Charles has their bishop…finally

March 6, 2007

After nearly two years of waiting, the Diocese of Lake Charles, Louisiana–Katerina’s first diocese upon moving to the United States–has a bishop. Msgr. Glen John Provost has been selected to become Lake Charles’ new shepherd of souls. Msgr. Provost was most recently a parish priest in Layfayette, LA. At today’s announcement, Bishop-elect Provost spoke the following words:

“With a humble joy and obedience of a servant, I have accepted the appointment of our beloved Holy Father, Benedict XVI, to serve the Diocese of Lake Charles. I pledge to our Holy Father my loyalty and dedication in ministry of the Universal Church. While this new responsibility will offer unfamiliar challenges, I realize it is the work of Christ, the High priest and place it all in His loving hands. God’s Providence is mysterious and marvelous. In the summer of 1975, following ordination by Pope Paul VI in Rome, Bishop (Gerard) Frey assigned me to serve as associate pastor of Our Lady Queen of Heaven Parish in Lake Charles. I sense that the circle is complete. I am returning to the familiar and friendly city of my first assignment and to a people who exhibited such courage and perseverance in facing the full force of a destructive storm. These steadfast and strong men and women are an example to us all. I ask the sincere prayers of the Catholic faithful of the Diocese and all people of good will and assure them of my enthusiasm in shepherding the flock entrusted to my care. May Christ reign in our hearts, now and always.”

Bishop-elect Provost holds a BA in English Literature from St. Joseph Seminary College, a S.T.B. and S.T.L. from the Angelicum, and a MA in English Literature from the University of Louisiana-Layfayette. He has also spent time in study at at L’Institute Catholique in Paris (French), the University of London (Victorian language), Don Quichote Institute, Salmanca (Spanish), Instututo Santa Maria, Rome (Italian) and has done archaeological study tours to Syria, Jordan and Turkey.

For more information on the announcement, click here.

Comments are closed.

