Skip to content

Michael’s early favorite: Mike Huckabee

March 8, 2007

I must confess, I like Mike Huckabee. In my opinion, he is the closest thing there has been in recent decades to a solid candidate for Catholics who embrace the hope of an established pro-person society. He’s not perfect, no, but he is pretty good.

Huckabee is a former Baptist preacher and current Governor of Arkansas. He’s described himself as a “Paradoxical Republican”: pro-life to highest degree, comfortable with schools teaching both evolution and creationism, fiscally conservative but not at the expensive of social services to the most vulnerable of society, pro-immigration reform and pro-immigration rights, supportive of aid for families who do not qualify for Medicaid but cannot afford prescriptions…the supposed paradoxes continue. I just call it decent politics.

For now, Huckabee is my early guy for the presidential race. He’s a good choice over pro-choice Giuliani, Clinton, Obama and Biden. He’s more moderate in his support of the war in Iraq than McCain. He has a bigger heart for immigrants and their children than Brownback, Clinton and McCain. I don’t like him because he is a Republican (I never pick according to political party). I like him because he is fundamentally pro-person, and as a Catholic, I can only be pro-person in all the issues of life.

My only two reservations so far come from his strong support of the Second Amendment and his desire to impliment a flat tax. But these are smaller positions that I can live with.

Of course, I may change my mind as campaigns progress, but for now, I’m going with Huckabee as the choice for Catholics. Stay tuned for a series of posts filled with quotes from Huckabee on issues of life and economics.

Comments are closed.

